A to Z of Graphic Design – The Design Process

The following is my design process. Each letter has been individually designed in illustrator or by hand. I have used the font Imprint and used the following CMYK colours:

 

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 14.58.53

A for artistic was done using the following method from the below tutorial video on youtube.

This is my final design for my ‘A’.

Watercolour A

B is for Blur. I used the blur tool in the effects gallery to create this one, and added a gradient colour to keep in with my colour scheme.

Effect menu on adobe illustrator pointing to blur effect

This is the final design for my B.

Blurred B

To create my C, I used the pen tool in illustrator on various stroke sizes and filled a rectangle with this lined pattern of colour. I then placed my C over the top and created a clipping mask. This is the final outcome.

Colourful striped C

 

D is for Dots. I used the ellipse tool and the ruler guides to evenly space the dots to create the D.

D in colourful dots

E is for Extrude. I used the following youtube video tutorial to create my E.

This is my final E.

Extruding E

F is for freehand. I decided to create a colourful F filled with hand drawn and coloured leaves. I started with pencil.

image4

I then outlined them in black pen.

image3 copy

image2 copy

I then started to colour it in using pencil crayons.

image1 copy

This is my final F which I then placed into illustrator and made a clipping mask to remove the background.

IMG_0468

G is for gradient. I created this by firstly drawing diamonds with the pen tool in a rectangle and then adding different variations in gradient, using the same colour theme throughout. I did come across a slight issue when placing the G into my final poster as it was displaying white lines around each of the diamonds. Each one was perfectly lined up and could not be improved so to resolve the issued I placed a G in the darker purple/maroon colour behind my gradient one to mask the white background coming through. This is the final G.

gradient dimonds G

H is for halftone. This was created in the same way the D for dots was using the ruler guides and the ellipse tool but on a smaller scale to give the halftone effect. I also wanted it to look more concentrated towards the centre of the letter. To do this, I used slightly larger circles and used smaller ones on edges to give a fading away effect. This is my final H.

Screen Shot 2016-01-20 at 21.58.30

I is for Ink. I created this by using the pen tool to create drips of ink like it had been dropped onto it. This is my final I.

Screen Shot 2016-01-20 at 22.11.07

J is for JPEG. I have quite simply made a clipping mask of a J using an image of autumn leaves to fit in with my colour swatch. I have also used the same image for some of my other letters.

Autumn-leaves

This is my final J.

Screen Shot 2016-01-20 at 22.17.32

K is for Kinetic. I wanted to see if I could create a letter that looked like a moving flag in the wind almost. I did this using the pen tool creating wave lines and then creating a clipping mask with the K. This is my final K.

Screen Shot 2016-01-20 at 22.25.40

L is for lines. Created using straight lines with the pen tool in a snake-like pattern to make it interesting. This is my final L.

Screen Shot 2016-01-20 at 22.32.14

M is for mosaic. I firstly used the ruler guides to create even lined up squares within the M. I then coloured them and finally added an extrude to the individual squares to give them a raised impression like a tile. this is my final M.

Screen Shot 2016-01-20 at 22.39.20

N is for Negative Space. To create this I used multiple N’s, created outlines and increased their size by expanding into a large stroke. I used the autumn leaves JPEG image from my J and I used the following tutorial to learn how to do the negative space..

This is my final N.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 11.41.49

O is for opacity. I wanted to create something that looked beautiful and showed a little bit of what can be done with opacity.  I created this using four O’s overlapped with different colours for each one and opacity applied so the colours feed through. This is my final O.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 12.09.29

P is for Poly, Low poly is the use of triangles to trace a JPEG to create a digital artwork. Each triangle has to line up perfectly to not have any gaps in the final image. I drew each triangle to imitate the detail from the JPEG and then selected a colour from within that triangle using the eyedropper on illustrator. This is my final P.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 12.46.48

I enjoyed this technique so much that I did a further project. I created a David Bowie tribute in Low Poly and it was compared to a Picasso on social media and someone even bought a print of it.

5aa88332915239.56983f1320f58

Q is for Quilling. I paper quilled by curling small thin strips of paper and then shaping them to create my final Q. I photographed my work and placed it into my Q.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 12.54.19

R is for repetition. Repetition is used for a lot of design, it forms one of the basics. I created my R by simply repeating the triangles equally with the repeat of colour also. This is my final R.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 13.03.16

S is for Shape. I decided to try and create my letter S with just shapes. I used two circles and then manipulated it with a gradient in each and the angle of the gradient to give the impression of an S. This could make for a good project to create a full alphabet. This is my final S.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 13.08.29

T is for Texture. I used the autumn leaves JPEG and the texturiser canvas effect in the effect gallery in illustrator.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 13.19.38

This is my final T.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 13.19.46

U is for Unity. Unity is very much like repetition and is again one of the basics used in a lot of graphic design. I created equal hexagons and applied colour to show unity between each hexagon. This is my final U.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 13.25.05

V is for vintage. I tried to create a vintage style letter using multiple V’s to create the 3d effect and decoration. This is my final V.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 13.28.34

W is for Waves. I used the same technique as my K for kinetic and rotated the lines to create a different perspective. This is my final W.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 13.35.57

X is for X Hatch (cross hatch). I created this in the effects gallery using the crosshatch.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 13.44.19

This is my final X.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 13.44.24

Y is for Yellow in CMYK. I used a few different tones within the yellow spectrum to demonstrate. This is my final Y.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 13.48.16

Z is for zigzag. I used Zigzags with opacity to create this pattern. This is my final Z.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 13.51.59

 

Leave a Reply

